Dr Amanda Scardamaglia

Dr Amanda Scardamaglia is a Senior Lecturer and Department Chair of Swinburne Law School. She has a PhD in Law from The University of Melbourne. Her area of research and expertise is intellectual property law, especially trade mark law and its history. Her work as an academic researcher is highly regarded, and she has broad experience in historical empirical research. 

Amanda has published in both international and Australian peer-refereed journals on the subject of trade marks and intellectual property law, and was awarded a State Library Victoria Creative Fellowship in 2015-2016. She is the author of the book Colonial Australian Trade Mark Law: Narratives in Colonial Lawmaking, People, Power and Place (Australian Scholarly Publishing, 2015). 

Dr Jessica Lake

Dr Jessica Lake is a Lecturer in Law at Swinburne University and researches in the areas of privacy law, intellectual property and American legal history, with a particular focus on gender. 

She has an LBB (Hons), BA (Hons) and PhD from The University of Melbourne. Her PhD thesis, 'Privacy and the Pictures: the photographed and filmed (women) who forged a right to privacy in the United States (1880-1950)', demonstrated that women forged a 'right to privacy' in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries by bringing cases protesting the unauthorised use and abuse of images of their faces and bodies. Her PhD will be published as a book, The Face that Launched a Thousand Lawsuits, by Yale University Press in 2016. Jessica has published her work in journals and newspapers, and presented at conferences, in Australia and the United States.

She is also a qualified lawyer, and practised for many years in the area of media and entertainment law and commercial litigation at Holding Redlich law firm in Melbourne. In 2016-2017, Jessica will be the Karl Loewenstein Fellow in Political Science and Jurisprudence at Amherst College, Massachusetts.

Deputy Editor

Dr Claudy Op den Kamp

Dr Claudy Op den Kamp is a Lecturer in Film at Bournemouth University and an affiliate of the Swinburne Law School. She recently finished a PhD at the University of Plymouth investigating the relationship between access to archival film, copyright ownership and film historiography. She is a graduate of the University of Amsterdam (Film and Television Studies) and holds a Masters in Film Archiving from the University of East Anglia. She has worked as Haghefilm Conservation’s Account Manager in Amsterdam; as a Film Restoration Project Leader at the then Nederlands Filmmuseum and as a senior research assistant at the Department of Film Studies at the University of Zurich. 

Academic Host

SLS sub-brand-med-01.png

Swinburne Law School, Swinburne University of Technology
Foundation Dean: Professor Dan Hunter

Publisher’s Executive Board

Dr Catherine Bond (University of New South Wales)
Professor David Clark (Flinders University)
Associate Professor Chris Dent (Murdoch University)
Mr Roger Hawthorn (Swinburne Law School)
Dr Tanya Josev (The University of Melbourne)
Professor Warren Swain (University of Auckland)
Mr Nick Walker (Australian Scholarly Publishing)

Advisory Committee

Dr José Bellido (University of Kent)
Professor Michael Birnhack (Tel Aviv University)
Mr Jamie Fellows (James Cook University)
Professor Jeremy Finn (University of Canterbury)
Associate Professor James C Fisher (University of Tokyo)
Associate Professor Ann Genovese (The University of Melbourne)
Dr Tony Meacham (University of Canberra)
Dr Narrelle Morris (Curtin University)
Professor Megan Richardson (The University of Melbourne)
Professor Chris Tomlins (University of California, Berkeley)
Associate Professor Marianne Dahlén (Uppsala University)
Professor Austin Sarat (Amherst College)